Board of Directors

As a cooperative, Piedmont Electric is governed by a member-elected board of directors. The cooperative is divided into nine directorate districts, representing all areas of the service territory (see District Map). There is also one at-large director. Members are elected to the board in staggered three-year terms, with the elections held at the Annual Membership Meeting each Spring.

Board of Directors and their districts

District 1: David Poythress

District 2: J. Randy Kinley

District 3: Cy Vernon

District 4: Stephen Long

District 5: Paul Bailey (Vice Chairman)

District 6: Talmadge Yancey

District 7: Bill Barber (Chairman)

District 8: Glennie Beasley

District 9: Sam Woods (Secretary)

At-Large: Richal Vanhook (Treasurer)

Piedmont Electric, as a Touchstone Energy® Cooperative, strives to maintain the four tenets of Touchstone Energy: Integrity, Accountability, Innovation and Commitment to the Community.

Headquartered in Hillsborough, the electric utility serves parts of Alamance, Caswell, Durham, Granville, Orange and Person counties in north central North Carolina.

Live Outage Map

Live Map Outage
Click Here.
to see live reporting on outages in our service area

Report an Outage

If you are without electricity, please call 800.449.2667.
Thank you!

Sign up for our Monthly e-Newsletter

Get monthly co-op news in your email inbox! Signing up for the e-newsletter will not replace your monthly Carolina Country subscription.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.